Writing an Autobiography

Hi guys!

I have seen this idea before and I really wanted to challenge myself. I want to write an autobiography. I would’ve have started this a long time ago, but there is one very big problem standing in my way;

I’m TWELVE years old!

I really don’t have much to write about. Just small events, but nothing really autobiography worthy (not that I would publish it or anything). So I have a question if anyone can answer it;

How do you write when there is nothing to write about?

I love writing, it pleases me very much. Although I tried NaNoWriMo and so far I’ve only wrote under 2000 words. But as much as I love to write, I don’t know how to write as well as I wish I did. I just finished an AMAZING book called The School for Good and Evil; The Last Ever After and each page I turned brought me deeper into the story and everything around me was gone. It was me, Sophie, Agatha and Tedros (the three main characters) for a couple hours each night. There were amazing plot twists and things that kept the story going so long that it was 655 pages long! The longest book I ever wrote was about 40 pages and they were smaller pages. I love writing fiction and that’s hard enough. So as much as I would love to write an autobiography, it’s not likely.

I was going to challenge myself though with my first real romance novel.Tell me what you guys think of this idea (or if it already exists);

A boy embarks on a long adventure to recover his true love, only to find that she isn’t at the finish line.

(c) 2015 Katie Tramontana

Yes, I just copyrighted that idea. Although, it’s probably a really popular book plot already. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book that was based entirely around romance. I’ve DEFINITELY read books with romance in them but never specific romance books.

I think that’s all. If you have any ideas or suggestions for my autobiography and/or my romance idea, PLEASE comment them down below because I would really appreciate the suggestions!!!

Thanks for reading!

~Katie

“Humorous, shy, fragile like a butterfly.”
4 thoughts on “Writing an Autobiography

  1. Hmm, how does one write when there’s nothing to write about? They make things to write about! That’s why planning can be so essential to writing a novel, autobiography, etc. Of course, I may be hypocritical saying this, seeing as I rarely plan (and look at the effects–I never finish xD) but I think that if you want to seriously take on a project, planning is very important. It’s the backbone of your novel, your outline. It makes it a little easier to know what you’re going to write about. You don’t have to be too specific as you outline (leaves for more creativity, I’d like to believe). But yes, I agree you might want to live a littleeee longer before you attempt an autobiography. However, you should never wait to brainstorm. What’s special about your life? What do you value most about it? What lessons have you learned that you feel are important to share with others? That’s often at the core of an autobiography–the lesson you’ve learned, the path you’ve taken and its effects. Nearly every autobiography encompasses that–you need to figure out the same. With that, you’ll be scratching the surface for certain, and may even break through it!
    As far as your “copyrighted” summary goes (and let’s be real, you don’t legally own it until it is legalized by a publishing company πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ but you’re totally getting the right idea haha!) I wonder if you can be a little more clear? What do you mean by finish line? I know of quests boys and girls take to find their loved one (Princess Bride, anyone?) but the last part may be original if you clarify πŸ˜€

    Like

    • Hi Grace!
      Thanks SO much for your comment! I think that outlining my autobiography over the next couple of years might do πŸ˜› That gives me time to get older, do more things and gather all the most important moments of my life. As for the romance summary, by “finish line” I mean finding his true love (and possibly rescuing her from something, I haven’t planned very far πŸ˜› Just the summary). And lol, I have only ever outlined my novels ONCE and that was for Language Arts xD so taking a couple YEARS to plan things would probably be great for me xD Anyways, thanks again for the comment (it’s great having a fellow writer to talk to for help πŸ™‚ ).

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re very much welcome! Yes, that’s why there are so many writers who advocate keeping a diary, a journal, any source that allows you to jot down your experiences, even if it’s only a few sentences to trigger the memory. I’ve to start doing that again, because I often forget a lot of events. I do have a few journals, but all empty, not finished. So keeping a journal should be how you “outline” your autobiography for the next few years, or however long you plan to “live” before you write πŸ˜‰
        And aw, I agree, having other writers as friends and for help is such a blessing! That’s why CWC is so great for us writers. As stated, strength comes in numbers ❀

        Like

  2. Pingback: Writing a Romance/Adventure | Miss Magic's Memoir

Leave a Reply

