The Monster Under the Bed

Hi guys! It’s day 5 of HalloTheme! (More info on HalloTheme here.)

Yay! Tomorrow is Halloween! Day of SPOOKS, MONSTERS and CANDY!!!! FLVS Scribbles had a prompt that said:

Your character hears a noise under their bed. What could it be?

Write for 10 minutes. Post your piece to comments.

I did it (for a little longer than ten minutes, it was too much fun) and here is the story that I wrote…


We both paused as the rattling noise sounded again. She started signaling me to look under the bed. I shook my head and signaled for her to do it. She rolled her eyes and nodded, “Scaredy-cat!” she mouthed as she confidently strutted towards the bed. She laid down on the floor next to the bed. I started to shake off my worries until I heard her scream. I jumped up and looked towards her and saw a green, grimy hand pulling her under the bed. Her arms and legs were writhing as she screamed, “Hannah! Help!” I was about to run and grab her when I saw her hand disappear under the bed. “S-s-Sarah?” I stammered. As I slowly marched towards the bed, step by step, I heard my Mom calling me from downstairs. “Hannah? Why are you two screaming?” she asked and I heard her footsteps on the stairs. Mom would never believe what happened and if I told her, she would look for herself. I slammed the door as she stepped up beside me. “We were playing pillow fight!” I lied. “I closed the door so she couldn’t get me.” I laughed nervously. Mom nodded suspiciously. “Well, if you guys are alright I guess that’s fine, although you know I dislike hurting each other.” “We’re using the softest pillows we can find,” I lied through my teeth and put on a big fake grin. I stepped back inside the room after Mom was gone. I decided my only chance was to look under the bed. I closed my eyes and took a deep breath as I walked stiffly next to the bed. I got down on my knees and dipped my head down shakily. I looked under the bed to find something horrific! Sarah sitting under the bed, holding back a malicious grin. I picked up a pillow and smacked her in the face as she laughed her head off.


Well, there you go! That does seem horrifying! If my brother was trying to freak me out like that, I would want to hit him with more than a pillow! 😛 Tomorrow’s Halloween guys and I hope you have a great one! Comment down below what you are doing for Halloween and what you are going as (if you’re dressing up). Also leave me some prompts, ideas and “What if?“s for me to use in my stories and poems!

Thanks guys and have a SPOOKTACULAR Halloween!

~Katie

“Humorous, shy, fragile like a- ZOMBIE!!!
3 thoughts on “The Monster Under the Bed

Leave a Reply

