Katniss and Rue

Hi guys! So I was doing research for a spin-off Hunger Games book that I’m planning on writing and it gave me an idea. Let me write a poem about Rue, the 12 year old girl from District 11. If you have not read or seen the first Hunger Games movie or book and you plan to I suggest that you do not read this poem (unless you really don’t care about spoilers). This poem is from Katniss’s point of view.


I feel hot tears running down my face,

I look down at her beauty and grace,

The blood is gushing from her chest,

This game is such a ridiculous test!

I must make a protest against this horrid game.

How can they not feel so ashamed?

.

I desperately tear flowers from the ground,

And I lay them gently around,

Her dear soul and I go down to my knees,

“Can you sing?” The poor girl pleads.

I hold her hand and sing her a song,

I wish that she could sing along.

.

Her eyes have closed and her heart has stopped,

I kiss her hand and let it drop.

Powered by fury and love for my friend,

I promise to fight until the very end.

I will defeat these evil games,

And they shall remember both of our names.

.

We will be painted as stars in the blue,

And you will never forget,

Katniss and Rue.

by Katie


I realize that the pattern and point of view is a lot like my Transcendence poem, but that’s okay. I like to write poems like that. Anyways comment down below if you liked the poem or if you have any opinions and/or ideas for my next poem. Also if you have any prompts, ideas, or “What if?“s for me to use in my stories and poems, that would be great! Thanks for reading guys!

~Katie

“Humorous, shy, fragile like a butterfly.”

P.S. I can’t wait for Mockingjay part 2!!

8 thoughts on “Katniss and Rue

  1. This was spectacular Katie! I really experience such raw emotion from your diction.
    Just remember to be wary of rhythm–you don’t want to add too many syllables to your lines, so words such as “very” and phrases like “hold her hand and sing her a song.” As best as you can, omit words that may hinder your rhythm. Only do so if you’re comfortable. If not, don’t change a thing!
    Lovely rhyming scheme 🙂 Keep up the good work.
    *wipes away tears that were soo not there pft*

    Like

Leave a Reply

