Virge Literary Magazine Submission

This is my poem for the Virge literary magazine for FLVS! This month’s theme is Transcendence!


Transcendence

I can feel the chilly wind whipping my face,

My heart suddenly begins to race.

My oxygen tank is slowly running low,

But I know it’s enough to get me back home.

As I climb higher, I feel even more pleased,

This is something that few have achieved!

I feel special; I feel strong,

I know that this feeling will last oh-so long.

As I grip the last rock and step up onto the peak,

I start to feel excitement that makes my knees weak.

I look down at the small-looking land,

I feel so powerful and strong as I stand.

And I realize something as my grin grows wide,

I have gone far past my goal and I have survived.

I have made it to the top of the world; I have reached the peak of Everest.

I have achieved the feeling of Transcendence


Anyways, I wouldn’t have even been inspired to do this if it wasn’t for Grace’s awesome poem on her blog Pens and Castles on a Cloud! Your poem is AMAZING Grace!

~Katie

“Humorous, shy, fragile like a butterfly.”
3 thoughts on “Virge Literary Magazine Submission

  1. I enjoyed reading this! The build up was well-done, plus the rhythm is spot on! I love this idea of achieving Transcendence, and I can’t wait to see this in the magazine πŸ˜‰
    Thank you again for your super kind words about my poem! It means a lot to me

    Like

Leave a Reply

